Close

In exhibition

Mosquito

Mosquito

A film by João Nuno Pinto

Starring João Nunes Monteiro, Sebastian Jehkul, Filipe Duarte, Josefina Massango

Dreaming of great adventures and of standing up for his homeland, a young Portuguese man enlists in the army during World War I and is sent to the front line in Mozambique, Africa. Left behind by his platoon, he sets out on a grueling trek across the mystic Makua native land, walking for over a thousand kilometers, in search of his dream.

  • Official website
  • 2019, Genre: War, Drama, Historical | Language: Portuguese | 122 min.

Release date

Cast

JOÃO NUNES MONTEIRO

MIGUEL MOREIRA

JOÃO LAGARTO
FILIPE DUARTE
ALFREDO BRITO
MIGUEL BORGES
CESÁRIO MONTEIRO
JOÃO VICENTE
MANUEL JOÃO VIEIRA
NUNO PRETO
AQUIRASSE NIPITA
MESSIAS JOÃO
MÁRIO MABJAIA
SEBASTIAN JEHKUL
JOSSEFINA MASSANGO
HERMELINDA SIMELA
MARIA CLOTILDE
GIGLIOLA ZACARA
GEZEBEL MACOVELA

with the special participation of
ANA MAGAIA and CAMANÉ

Crew

Directed by

JOÃO NUNO PINTO


Written by
FERNANDA POLACOW
GONÇALO WADDINGTON

Original ideia
JOÃO NUNO PINTO


Cinematography
ADOLPHO VELOSO
 
Art direction
NUNO GABRIEL MELLO, TIGRE DE FOGO


Film editing
GUSTAVO GIANI


Music by
JUSTIN MELLAND


Sound
GITA CERVEIRA

TIAGO RAPOSINHO

MATTHIEU DENIAU


Costume design
LUCHA D`OREY


Casting
RICARDO MOURA


Produced by
PAULO BRANCO


Co-produced by
ANA PINHÃO MOURA

MARIO PEIXOTO


Executive producers
ANA PINHÃO MOURA

ENRICO SARAIVA


A LEOPARDO FILMES production

In coproduction with

ALFAMA FILMS PRODUCTION

APM PRODUÇÕES
DELICATESSEN FILMS
MAPIKO FILMES


With the financial support of 

ICA Instituto Cinema e Audiovisual
RTP Rádio e Televisão de Portugal
L’Aide Aux Cinemas du Monde
CNC Centre National du Cinéma et de l'Image Animée - Institut Francais
L’aide à la Coproduction D’œuvres Cinématographiques Franco-portugaises
Creative Europe Programme Media Of The European Union
Programa Ibermedia


With the support of
INAC Instituto Nacional Audiovisual e Cinema, Mozambique

Director's biography

João Nuno Pinto is a Portuguese director, born in 1969 at Lourenço Marques, Mozambique. He moved to Portugal at the age of 5, shortly after the independence of the former Portuguese colony. In his latest years he has lived in Lisbon and São Paulo.


With a consolidated international career in advertising, in 2010 João Nuno Pinto premiered America, his first feature, an ironic look at contemporary Portugal through the eyes of illegal immigrants. The film was acclaimed in Portugal, Spain, and Brazil. It was selected and awarded by several film festivals around the world.


Mosquito, his latest film, co-written by his wife, the screenwriter Fernanda Polacow, and Gonçalo Waddington, is inspired by João Nuno Pinto’s grandfather's story in Africa during World War I and took almost 7 years to prepare.
 
Director's filmography:
Mosquito (2019)
Don’t Swim (short film, 2015)
America (2010)
Skype Me (short film, 2008)

  • IFFR – International Film Festival Rotterdam

    Official Selection - Big Screen Competition - Opening Film

  • Luxembourg City

    Film Festival

  • Gröningen Film Festival

    Netherlands

  • 34th Braunschweig International Film Festival

    Germany

  • Bengaluru Film Festival

    India

  • Geneva Film Festival

    Swiss

  • Lucca Film Festival

    Italy

  • Scanorama Film Festival

    Lituania

  • Split Film Festival

    Croatia

  • Tapei International Film Festival

    Taiwan

João Nuno Pinto

Director’s Statement

"Reality is not in leaving or arriving: it comes to us halfway through the journey."

(Guimarães Rosa, Brazilian writer)


In 1917, aged 17, my grandfather landed in Mozambique along with the 4th Portuguese Expeditionary Company, in order to defend the Portuguese ex-colony against the German threat. Like so many other European soldiers in Africa during World War I, they had to walk hundreds of kilometers every day, facing hard deprivations, diseases, hunger and thirst. The only difference is that he did it all by himself, completely alone, looking for the war and for his dreams of glory. Although Mosquito is inspired by my grandfather’s journey in Africa, no one really knows what he went through during his long and solitary journey. This is where fiction and the meaning I want to convey the narrative comes in.
 
The way we Europeans and others still deal with African issues today reflects our colonial past and the long years of indoctrination of a certain paternalistic ideal about Africa. Mosquito uses a history of the past to confront us with choices of the present. Through the story of young Zacarias we are confronted with the horror of the war, and the subjugation of African people by the Europeans, through colonial domination. The film gives us a little more insight into a forgotten piece of our history, World War I in Africa, forcing us to reflect on a much longer period, when it was our right to subjugate and “civilize” other people who we conveniently considered to be inferior.
 
Private Zacarias’ lonely journey searching for his platoon is the backbone of the story. Through its clear references to classical Greek narrative, Mosquito navigates within the genre of an epic film, which makes it universal in its dialectic. Yet, it is not merely concerned with using the genre's classical codes, but also a language and a narrative approach that breaks away from conventions, meeting a more authorial universe. In a way, the film's unique approach dissociates it from a classical form and embraces a more raw and contemporary narrative, putting us closer to the (less and less) innocent look of the young soldier.
 
The film shows a kind of fluctuation between reality and fantasy, past and present, the fabrication and the everyday. The situations may seem fantastic but they are real. The hallucinations may seem real but they are built by a troubled mind. And its remembrances appear like scattered fragments of the memory. The idea of the reality versus the imaginary is important because of its closeness with the creation of history and war itself. That is part of Mosquito’s narrative: exploring the imaginary space left blurred by the historical amnesia.

News about Mosquito

“Mosquito”, a film by João Nuno Pinto, premieres in France on June 22nd. The film will be screening in 19 theaters

Mosquito, directed by João Nuno Pinto and written by Fernanda Polacow and Gonçalo Waddington, arrives in the French theaters on June 22nd. Starring João Nunes Monteiro and produced by Paulo Branco, the film is inspired by the experience of the director's grandfather, who was part of the Portuguese army that fought German forces in Mozambique during the First World War and is one of the films featured in the reopening of the French theaters. On the 22nd of June it premieres in 9 of the most important theaters in several cities in France, followed by another 10 in the following weeks (to see calendar, click here).

IFFR – International Film Festival Rotterdam – Opening Film - MOSQUITO by João Nuno Pinto

The IFFR – International Film Festival Rotterdam announces today that MOSQUITO, João Nuno Pinto's new film, produced by Paulo Branco, a Leopardo Filmes production, co-produced by Alfama Films Production (France), APM Produções (Portugal) , Delicatessen Films (Brazil) and Mapiko Filmes (Mozambique), will be the opening film of the IFFR - International Film Festival Rotterdam 2020, which will take place from January 22nd to February 2nd, where it will be competing in the Big Screen Competition section, for the Big Screen Award.

Press review

Premiering at the 2020 Rotterdam film festival, João Nuno Pinto’s MOSQUITO is an provocative, if derivative, odyssey into the heart of colonial darkness.

Jorge Mourinha, The Flickering Wall

João Nuno Pinto's Portuguese World-War-One drama tackles Portugal's colonial shady past in Africa.

Ard Vijn, Screen Anarchy

Rotterdam’s opening film is a fever dream account of a young Portuguese soldier’s experiences in 1917 Mozambique.

Screen Daily

Pinto crafts a stark depiction of the morally grey, crafting a character that demonstrates every facet of the human condition; he’s flawed and easily led, yet also masterfully empathetic.

Nathanial Eker, UK Film Review

Matériel à télécharger

Subscribe to our mailing list

Close

Prochainement

Mosquito

Mosquito

Un film de João Nuno Pinto

Avec João Nunes Monteiro, Sebastian Jehkul, Filipe Duarte, Josefina Massango

Rêvant de grandes aventures et de défendre sa patrie, un jeune homme portugais s'enrôle dans l'armée durant la Première Guerre Mondiale. Il est envoyé au front au Mozambique, en Afrique,. Abandonné par son unité, il s'engage dans une longue traversée de la mystique terre Makua, marchant des milliers de kilomètres à la recherche de ses rêves.

  • Site officiel
  • 2019, Genre: Guerre, Drame, Historique | Langue: Portugais | 122 min.

Casting

JOÃO NUNES MONTEIRO

MIGUEL MOREIRA

JOÃO LAGARTO
FILIPE DUARTE
ALFREDO BRITO
MIGUEL BORGES
CESÁRIO MONTEIRO
JOÃO VICENTE
MANUEL JOÃO VIEIRA
NUNO PRETO
AQUIRASSE NIPITA
MESSIAS JOÃO
MÁRIO MABJAIA
SEBASTIAN JEHKUL
JOSSEFINA MASSANGO
HERMELINDA SIMELA
MARIA CLOTILDE
GIGLIOLA ZACARA
GEZEBEL MACOVELA

avec la participation spéciale de
ANA MAGAIA
et CAMANÉ

Équipe

Réalisation

JOÃO NUNO PINTO


Scénario
FERNANDA POLACOW
GONÇALO WADDINGTON

Idée originale de
JOÃO NUNO PINTO




Image

ADOLPHO VELOSO
 
Direction artistique
NUNO G. MELLO, TIGRE DE FOGO


Montage
GUSTAVO GIANI


Musique originale
JUSTIN MELLAND


Son
GITA CERVEIRA

TIAGO RAPOSINHO

MATTHIEU DENIAU


Costumes
LUCHA D`OREY


Directeur de casting
RICARDO MOURA


Producteur
PAULO BRANCO


Co-producteurs
ANA PINHÃO MOURA

MARIO PEIXOTO


Producteurs exécutifs
ANA PINHÃO MOURA

ENRICO SARAIVA


Une production 

LEOPARDO FILMES


En coproduction avec

ALFAMA FILMS PRODUCTION

APM PRODUÇÕES

DELICATESSEN FILMS
MAPIKO FILMES


Avec le soutien financier de 

ICA Instituto Cinema e Audiovisual
RTP Rádio e Televisão de Portugal
L’Aide Aux Cinemas du Monde
CNC Centre National du Cinéma et de l'Image Animée - Institut Francais
L’aide à la Coproduction D’œuvres Cinématographiques Franco-portugaises
Creative Europe Programme Media Of The European Union
Programa Ibermedia


Avec le soutien de
INAC Instituto Nacional Audiovisual e Cinema, Mozambique

Biographie du réalisateur

João Nuno Pinto est un réalisateur portugais né en 1969 à Lourenço Marques au Mozambique. Il  déménage au Portugal à l'âge de 5 ans, peu de temps après l'indépendance de l'ancienne colonie portugaise. Aujourd’hui, il partage son temps entre Lisbonne et à São Paulo.


Suite à une carrière internationale dans le monde de la publicité, João Nuno Pinto créé en 2010 America, son premier long métrage, portant un regard ironique sur le Portugal contemporain à travers les yeux d’immigrants illégaux. Le film fut acclamé au Portugal, en Espagne et au Brésil et sélectionné et récompensé par plusieurs festivals de films à travers le monde.


Mosquito, son dernier film, co-écrit pour sa femme et scénariste Fernando Polacow et Gonçalo Waddington, est inspiré par l’histoire en Afrique pendant la première guerre mondiale de son grand-père. Le film a mis 7 ans à se faire. 


Filmographie : 

Mosquito ( 2019)

Don’t Swim (court, 2015)

America (2010)

Skype Me (court, 2008)

  • IFFR – International Film Festival Rotterdam

    Sélection officielle - Big Screen Competition - Film d'ouverture

  • Luxembourg City

    Film Festival

  • Gröningen Film Festival

    Netherlands

João Nuno Pinto

Déclaration du réalisateur

"La réalité n'est pas au moment de partir ou d'arriver: elle arrive au milieu du voyage." 

(Guimarães Rosa, écrivain brésilien) 


En 1917, à peine âgé de 17 ans, mon grand-père débarqua au Mozambique avec la 4e Compagnie expéditionnaire portugaise, afin de défendre l'ex-colonie portugaise contre la menace allemande. Comme beaucoup de soldats européens en Afrique pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il a dû parcourir des centaines de kilomètres chaque jour, confrontés à de graves privations, à des maladies, à la faim et à la soif. La seule particularité est qu'il l'a fait tout seul, complètement seul, à la recherche de la guerre et de la gloire. Mosquito est inspiré du voyage de mon grand-père en Afrique. Cependant, ce qu'il a réellement traversé durant son long et solitaire voyage, personne ne le sait. C'est là que la fiction et le sens que je veux donner au récit entrent en jeu.


La façon dont nous, Européens et autres, traitons encore les questions africaines reflète bien le passé colonialiste, et les longues années d'endoctrinement d'une certaine idée paternaliste de l'Afrique. Mosquito utilise une histoire du passé pour nous confronter à nos choix au présent. L'histoire du jeune Zacarias nous confronte à l'horreur de la guerre, et à l'asservissement du peuple africain par les européens dans cette période de domination coloniale. Le film nous donne ainsi un aperçu d'un versant oublié de notre histoire, la Première Guerre Mondiale en Afrique, et nous amène à réfléchir à une période beaucoup plus longue, celle où nous pensions avoir le droit de soumettre et de "civiliser" d'autres personnes que nous considérions commodément comme inférieurs.  


Le voyage solitaire du soldat Zacarias à la recherche de son peloton constitue l'épine dorsale de l'histoire. Par ses références claires au récits classiques grecs, Mosquito s'inscrit dans le genre épique, ce qui le rend universel dans sa dialectique. Mais il n'utilise pas seulement les codes classiques du genre, et créé son propre langage d'auteur, dans une narration éloignée des conventions. C'est par son approche unique que le film se dissocie de sa forme classique pour embrasser un récit plus brut et contemporain, à travers le regard de moins en moins innocent de son personnage de soldat. 


Il y a dans le film une sorte de fluctuation entre la réalité et le fantasme, le passé et le présent, l'atypique et le quotidien. Les situations peuvent sembler fantastiques, mais elles sont réelles. Les hallucinations peuvent elles sembler réelles, mais elles sont la construction d'un esprit troublé. Et les souvenirs apparaissent comme des fragments de mémoires dispersés. L'idée de la réalité contre l'imaginaire est importante dans un contexte historique de guerre, Mosquito entend ainsi explorer l'espace imaginaire laissé flou par l'amnésie historique.

News sur Mosquito

Sortie reportée pour MOSQUITO

Compte tenu de la situation sanitaire en France et de la fermeture des salles de cinéma, la sortie de Mosquito, initialement prévue le 25 mars prochain, est reportée à une date encore indéterminée.

IFFR - Festival International du Film de Rotterdam - Film d'ouverture - MOSQUITO de João Nuno Pinto

Le Festival International du Film de Rotterdam a annoncé aujourd'hui que MOSQUITO, le nouveau film deJoão Nuno Pinto, produit par Paulo Branco, une production Leopardo Filmes, coproduit par Alfama Films Production (France), APM Produçoes (Portugal), Delicatessen Films (Brésil) et Mapiko Filmes (Mozambique), sera le film d'Ouverture de sa prochaine édition, qui se déroulera du 22 janvier au 2 février 2020. Il sera également en Compétition dans la section Big Screen, et concourra pour le Prix Big Screen.

Revue de presse

Premiering at the 2020 Rotterdam film festival, João Nuno Pinto’s MOSQUITO is an provocative, if derivative, odyssey into the heart of colonial darkness.

Jorge Mourinha, The Flickering Wall

João Nuno Pinto's Portuguese World-War-One drama tackles Portugal's colonial shady past in Africa.

Ard Vijn, Screen Anarchy

Rotterdam’s opening film is a fever dream account of a young Portuguese soldier’s experiences in 1917 Mozambique.

Screen Daily

Pinto crafts a stark depiction of the morally grey, crafting a character that demonstrates every facet of the human condition; he’s flawed and easily led, yet also masterfully empathetic.

Nathanial Eker, UK Film Review

Subscribe to our mailing list